Road Hole Shorts

Golf Design, golf, golf, GOLF

Top Ten Lists

by Mary Armstrong/For the Las Cruces Sun-News

Posted: 06/18/2010 12:00:00 AM MDT

My Top 10 favorite golf courses I have played worldwide:

1. North Berwick Golf Club – North Berwick, Scotland

2. Pinehurst #2,Pinehurst Resort, Pinehurst, NC

3. The Old Course, St. Andrews Golf Club, St Andrews Scotland

4. Mid-Pines Golf Club, Southern Pines, NC

5. The New Course, St. Andrews Golf Club, St. Andrews, Scotland

6. Pine Needles Golf Club, Southern Pines, NC

7. Lake Sunapee Country Club, New London, New Hampshire

8. Prouts Neck Golf Club, Scarborough, Maine

9. Dunes Course, New Seabury Country Club, Mashpee (Cape Cod), Massachusetts

10. The Country Club, Brookline, Massachusetts

My Top 10 golf courses I’ve never played world-wide:

1. Augusta National GC – Augusta, Georgia

2. Royal Dornoch Golf Links, Dornoch, Scotland

3. Prairie Dunes Country Club, Hutchinson, Kansas

4. Pebble Beach Golf Links, Carmel, California

5. Cruden Bay Golf Club, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

6. Ballybunion Golf Club, County Kerry, Ireland

7. Royal Melbourne Golf Links, Black Rock, Victoria, Australia

8. Bethpage Black, Farmingdale, New York

9. TPC Sawgrass GC, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida

10. Turnberry Golf Links, Ayshire, Scotland

11. My next design…*smiles*

My Top 10 list of golf slang/sayings:

1. Don’t drink and drive; don’t even putt.

2. That shot wasn’t fat, it was obese/That shot wasn’t thin it was emaciated.

3. The woods are full of long hitters.

4. That’s a Star Trek shot – Boldly goes where no one has gone before!

5. Sandy Snowman – an 8 with a one putt from the bunker (I’ve done this!)

6. Duck Hook, aka Quacker – a shot that hooks, but dives steeply to the ground.

7. Blue Bayou – as in blew by you!

8. Weber – a shot that goes into someone’s backyard – if it hits their outdoor grill, it’s a Weber-in-one.

9. Grunkel – Anyplace that would be considered out-of-play, but often used in New England to describe wetland areas.

10. Last, my own creation – It’s not how good your good shots are – it’s how good your bad shots are!

Top 10 reasons I love golf

1. I’m outside.

2. I get some exercise for my body (I usually walk) and lots of mental gymnastics.

3. The surroundings are usually beautiful.

4. I meet the most wonderful people – nearly all my friends are from golf meetings.

5. I can play by myself and be challenged.

6. I nearly always see wildlife and sometimes unusual wildlife happenings – just last week I saw a coyote catch a bird.

7. When I’m upset I can relieve my aggression playing golf.

8. When I’m reflective I can be alone and play without thinking about the game.

9. I love the smell of freshly mown grass.

10. It’s given me a wonderful career and a good living.

Top 10 turnoffs at the golf course

1. seeing someone search their bag for a ringing cell phone.

2. seeing someone leave their bag 10 yards away from them and then needing to change their club.

3. forward tees that are too small, improperly leveled or just poorly built.

4. old greens that weren’t designed for today’s green speeds.

5. cart paths – wish we didn’t need them at all.

6. watching someone look at a putt from behind the hole every time.

7. Bunkers that have lips higher than 2 inches

8. Marshals that don’t marshal.

9. Out of bounds within the course.

10. Someone that insists on calling a penalty on me when they don’t know the rules.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

